top of page
  • Writer's pictureIz S

The Girls I've Been - Tess Sharpe

Nora was raised to be a con artist. Over the years she’s worn the faces and lives of many girls, but she’s retired now in witness protection with her sister, Lee. Lee is a private detective, but Nora, seventeen, still hasnt found how to use her “gift” for good. The bad part about her identity? Most people don’t know who she really is, including her girlfriend.

When Nora, her ex boyfriend-turned-best-friend, and her girlfriend are held hostage in a bank robbery, Nora’s suspicious ability to break them out is confusing everyone. Over the several hours that she and her friends are held hostage, the story weaves between the present day of the armed robbery, and different parts of Nora’s past. The further you read into the story, the more the present ties into the past, as everything slowly gets revealed. I really enjoyed this book, not only for the gripping and page-turning plot, but also for the positive and accurate LGBTQ representation. I really appreciated the lights they shined on abusive familial relationships and domestic abuse. Something else that stuck out to me was Nora’s girlfriend, she was probably my favorite because of her witty personality, but I appreciate the light they shined on her endometriosis, since there’s very little chronically ill representation in books. I really enjoyed this fun thriller, even though it got a little too gory/graphic at times (for my taste.)


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page