top of page
  • Writer's pictureIz S

Simon Vs. The Homosapien's Agenda (Love Simon)

Simon is just like everyone else, he lives his predictable upper middle class life in Georgia with his two sisters and his parents. Except there is one secret. And it’s kind of a big one. Simon is gay. The only person who knows is some guy he met anonymously on tumblr that Simon emails daily. This email guy is kind of a big deal because he’s quickly becoming not just “some guy”, and when Simon finds out he goes to his school, he’s desperate to find him. But one day, that secret he’d been holding onto so tightly gets leaked, so much more is at steak.

Simon Vs. The Homosapien’s Agenda was a book I had to read if I was going to call myself a YA romance connoisseur. I braved almost every John Green book, so I figured it was my time. I will be honest, I had my doubts. In the YA community it’s really normalized to have middle aged women who are from the mid west write novels about gay men. But it seems like Albertalli had a lot of mentors and did a good job when writing this. Now let’s move onto the movie.

Why?

Why did they do the movie like that?

A lot was different and it just felt overdone. I liked it because I feel like it captured the characters properly but the little ways they changed the plot bugged me. And the ending bugged me too. But it wasn’t awful. It could have been better but it definitely wasn’t awful, and I did like some of the changes they made to the plot.

Overall I actually enjoyed the book. It had good lessons about frendship and being yourself, even if the world doesn't like it. The ending was cute and I read it quickly, so I do recommend it.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page