top of page
  • Writer's pictureIz S

Odd One Out

This story follows Courtney Cooper, the heart broken male cheerleader, Jupiter Charity Sanchez, Courtney’s best friend since forever, next door neighbor, and out and proud lesbian. And Rae Chin, the new girl who just might have a thing for Jupiter.

Courtney and Jupiter have been best friends for practically their whole lives, and ever since they could remember, it was always Jupe and Coop, partners in crime, always ready for each other through thick and thin. But after Courtney’s latest breakup leaving him unsatisfied once again, he notices Jupiter is a little preoccupied. All she can talk about is the pretty new girl, Rae Chin, and Courtney didn’t really get the hype, until she showed up to Jupiter'

s house one day. Now all of Jupiter's free-time is spent with Rae, leaving Courtney high-and-dry and in need of some Jupe and Coop time to fill the void. So yeah, Courtney is jealous, a little more than jealous, but when Rae starts to show feelings for him too, things only get more complicated. And when Jupiter realizes she may just be falling for Courtney, her mind is all over the place.


To be completely honest, I’m not sure how I felt about this book. I liked the illustration of the teenage experience, and the perspective it brought forward, but I felt a lack of connection throughout the middle of the story. There was a bit of a lull that made me uninterested. That could have been totally personal, but I still felt the story lacked what I wanted. I appreciated the conversation it brought to the table at the end of the book, and I felt that was needed, and the turning of the side characters was much appreciated. I think this book was a very nice point of view story that definitely had me guessing.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page