top of page
  • Writer's pictureIz S

A Reader's Confession: Fantasy

I like to think of myself as a avid reader. If I go into a Barnes and Noble YA fiction section I've read half of the books on the shelf, at least. The other half usually belongs to fantasy... Now I understand what you might be thinking: "You can't call yourself a book adict if you haven't read Throne of Glass, Divergent, or Harry Potter!" And the truth is I don't really care what you think. I've always been very picky when it comes to what I read. I'm not a Cassandra Clare adict or a Potterhead. For a long time I thought I'd never read or like a single piece of YA Fantasy or Sci-Fi. Until I read Carry On. When I first realized Rainbow Rowell had written a fantasy novel, I was sceptical. But since I enjoyed Eleanor and Park, I thought I'd give the 528 page novel a read. And boy was I hooked. Some may find it strange that a middle aged white woman from Omaha wrote a book about two (very gay) magical dudes, and maybe it is, but I'm all about breaking barriers in the world of fiction. After reading Carry On I attempted the sequal, Wayward Son. Which was loveable and not boring in the slightest. I soon perchased the paper back version of Carry on, and the hardback of Wayward Son. They now sit of my shelf for admiration and I hope one day to get them signed.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page