top of page
  • Writer's pictureIz S

The Sun Is Also A Star

Updated: Mar 1, 2020


The Sun Is Also A Star, Nicola Yoon

Natasha Kingsley is a realist. No true love. No destiny. All those things are merely coincidences. We're only here to expand the economy and die.

Daniel Bae is a dreamer. Destiny, true love, passion, meant to be. Those are things in the stars.

Natasha and Daniel couldn't be more different, but one day they meet in the weirdest of circumstances, and Daniel says, "I can get you to fall in love with me in a day."

The only problem?

Natasha is being deported back to Jamaica that night. And also, she doesn't believe in love.

This story was possibly my favorite read of the year because it flowed magnificently. And Yoon truly took the meaning of "weaving narratives" to heart when writing this work of art. Her story connected all the amazing coincidences that lead Natasha and Daniel to find each other, and how something small in one person's life can make a huge difference in another's. And it taught everybody a much needed lesson in these divided times: to treat everyone with mutual love, regardless of circumstance. That gives me major 'Pay it Forward' vibes. I think some people reading this book could really use that wake-up call. Yoon every aspect of the book hooks you. I think it is completely sequel-worthy, but I don't know..

I give this 5/5 no critiques. Just love.

(And I can't wait to watch the movie!)


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ghosts

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page