top of page
  • Writer's pictureIz S

The Fault In Our Stars 

The Fault in Our Stars, John Green.


I finally did it. I finally read this story that people have been raving about since I was six years old and probably reading Judy Moody. Hazel Lancaster is a 16-year-old cancer kid. Ever since her hovering helicopter mom declared Hazel is depressed, she was sent to a church Support Group. At Support Group, Hazel meets Issac and Augustus. As she gets to know both of them she grows closer to Augustus, a cancer kid and amputee, soon she finds herself in love. Because of its extreme popularity, I’m not going to get into the actual storyline much further, because either you’ve read millions of critical reviews of this story before, or you want to read the story without spoilers. I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to get into this book. The flow was magnificent. I believe I’ve stated this before, but John Green has a creepily realistic sense of The American Teen Girl. The way he wrote Hazel’s perspective led me to believe she’s a real person. The way he wrote about death in such a ‘$#*# happens’ type of way in the beginning, versus the end when he spoke about death in a very sad sort of melancholic way. I will say I had a sort of falling out point with this book in the middle. For some reason I was finding it hard to pick up the book and continue on. The thing I like but also sometimes dislike about Green’s stories is that sometimes it feels sort of repetitive of his other work. That isn’t to say I didn’t enjoy this or his other stories, but I think this is definitely a very satisfied 4.3 star story. Well done, Mr. Green.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ghosts

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page