top of page
  • Writer's pictureIz S

Middlegrade Mondays! Guts

Updated: Mar 1, 2020

Guts: Raina Telgemeie

Young Raina is in fifth grade, feeling great, until one day, she feels sick to her stomach, her family catches a bug, no big deal… But Raina can't seem to escape her fears. What if she throws up at school? Or worse? At school, her anxiety grows as other kids are getting sick. She just can't overcome her constant fear.

This book hit very close to home for me because I went through a similar situation when I was younger. It felt good to me, as it did for Raina in the book, knowing I wasn't the only one having this issue. Reading the story felt like someone was writing about my life, which is a great quality to have. Telgemeier's graphics are usually a good finish-in-one-sitting type and this book was no different. I love the snipits into her young life Telgemeier has given us in this trio, I will definitely read the next books.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ghosts

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page