top of page
  • Writer's pictureIz S

Between Shades of Gray

Updated: Mar 1, 2020

Between Shades of Gray, by Ruta Sepetys


Fifteen-year-old Lina is an average teenager, looking forward to Summer vacation and practicing her art. Until one night when a pound on her family's front door changes her life and her fate forever.

Lina, her brother Jonas, and her mother are arrested and deported from her home country of Lithuania, along with millions of others. They are packed into train cars in the night and fed little to none for weeks on end as the train makes its way to their fate. Once there, she is forced to work without pay and live in practically animal conditions. Of course she still has an amazing family who loves her, but is love enough for her to stay alive and well?

Never in my life have I read something so horrifyingly beautiful. Sepetys rendered the brutal event with brave honesty, and fantastic writing that one could only work many years to achieve. The pain could practically be felt through the pages. Many say a good book makes you either cry or laugh out loud and I did the former. Sepetys ripped my heart out, and then sewed me back together when I read this. It has the power to move people. To make them change. I will warn you, this wasn't a nice sit down and have a cup of tea in the afternoon sun and read book. This was awful, and images of death will circle your brain as you read about Lina's journey.

I thought this book was fantastic and I give it 6 stars! It went above and beyond for me 💗

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ghosts

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page